My dryer is fixed!!

No more crunchy towels, no more super wrinkled clothes and no more stiff socks!!  Yay! We went about 6 weeks without a dryer.  I bought a clothes rack to dry hang the clothes, it actually wasn’t too bad, we could manage without the dryer, but then I really got behind on the laundry and I could only do 1-2 loads per day without the dryer, plus the 2 yr. old went through a season of diarhea so we had more laundry than usual.  We got our act together and had the repairman come back with the part that was needed, it only took about 10 min. to fix.  Yay– if we want to wear something tomorrow, I can wash it tonight or in the morning and it will have time to dry!!  I now know why ironing was such a big deal in the days before dryers– everything is stiff and crunchy and wrinkly without a dryer.  So, yay for dryers and yay for not having to iron so much– not that I did– we just wore wrinkly clothes, nobody minded.  There is my fixed dryer and my drying rack and lots of clean clothes to fold and put away!!

laundry1 laundry3

Another good reason to have a dryer?  We were gone all day for my daughter’s robotics competition, and I took the other kids to the Children’s Museum of New Hampshire between sessions.  Hanging clothes on the rack just takes more time, I’m thinking that I may get caught up on the laundry sometime this week– I was doing pretty well with it when first the washer broke- got that fixed and then the dryer.  Hopefully they keep working for awhile, it is so much easier to get out the door when everybody can find their clothes.  One of the hardest things about getting everybody out the door for things is finding clothes that are clean and that they like and will wear.  This will certainly make it easier!  Plus if something is dirty, I can wash it on the quick wash and then dry it, if something is wrinkled I can get it wet throw it in the dryer and voila, so yay!! I had no idea how happy and excited I would be about this– living without certainly makes one appreciate living with!!

So my daughter’s team is #2342 — Team Phoenix.  She designed the phoenixes on their robot which you can see pretty well on here.  She also designed their logo which they used on buttons and on the laptop they used to control the robot.  The team booths are in the background where they wait their turns.  You can see their mascot in the next photo and you can see their robot successfully stacking yellow bins with the opposing team for extra points. They did great today, currently in 1st place!

robot1 robot5

Here is my son in front of the Children’s museum.  It was a nice outing, the little people especially enjoyed it.  The 2 yr. old was in heaven.  Notice that there is still snow everywhere and it snowed today.  This has been the longest winter, Boston made a new record for the amount of snow they received and we are not too far from there.  But notice the grass coming through under the tree.  My deck is reappearing.  So although it still looks like winter and often still feels like winter, it is spring!!  Can’t wait for it to be fully spring!!

robot2 robot3

Leave a Reply

