basketball

I have been coaching our Young Women’s church youth group basketball team.  My 2 girls are on the team.  It has been so much fun for me.  I played basketball in high school, loved it — practiced all the time.  I am amazed at how it just comes back, I immediately crouch when I show the girls how to play defense or how to keep others from getting the ball while dribbling.  We had 2 games on Sat. and in between our games, the Women’s team played, so I decided to play with them since I wasn’t going anywhere anyway.  It was so much fun!! It was a real workout though– wow!!  I am still sore 3 days later!!

All of us moms were huffing and puffing a bit, but it felt so good and it was really really fun.  I am glad that I am able to run up and down the court.  After 8 babies, I have spent about 5 yrs. of my life pregnant unable to participate is such risky behavior either because I was naseous or just too big and another 7 yrs. or so nursing and responsible for little people and thus unable to do such things. Plus I sustained some injuries from playing in my younger years, and purposely stayed away from it for years. So it was really really nice to play again.  And really fun to coach and help my girls and their friends with it.  I am no where near to the shape I was in when I played all the time, but I’m really glad I didn’t lose it all.  I guess it’s like riding a bike!!

Leave a Reply

