Teaching Twins to Ski

I now know from personal experience just how important it is to exercise and to be ready for anything.  As I have mentioned in previous posts, my older kids have been participating in a really great learn to ski program.  Well, the side effect of this is that I observed a bunch of tiny kids also skiing and realized that my twins who just turned 5 are probably old enough to learn to ski too.  So last week they were sick, this week I couldn’t leave them at home, so I rented them some little skis.  Now I really appreciate the work the ski instructors do– there were no instructors left, so it was up to me!

learnski1

They of course knew nothing, I had observed my kids’ lessons so I had them go down the bunny hill on 1 ski.  They fell and cried, especially the one in blue, he cried so much.  So I would run and pick them back up, one would fall and then the other.  We were doing OK, and then I saw the 2 yr. old walking down to the bottom of the hill near the Magic Carpet!!.

learnski2

So I had to get him, while I was getting him, the twin in red managed to put his other ski on and went straight down the hill!! So I chased him and slowed him down.  Then the one in blue also wanted his other ski on, so we got it and then I chased him down the hill.  I put them on the Magic Carpet to go up (boy am I glad that thing is slow) and carried the 2 yr. old up the hill to wait for them at the top.  Finally, the 2 yr. old started crying and was done being in the cold, the twins were making some progress, but I told them it was time for a break.  We went in the lodge and warmed up. The older kids came, the 7 yr. old cried because he was cold too.  It was crazy.

learnski3

We had lunch and rested awhile before we went again.  I put some extra clothes on the baby and the 7 yr. old.  It was extra cold – the storm was coming. I was not a bit cold from all my running up, down and sideways on the hill. This time I also had the 7 yr. old super willing to help the twins learn and the 2 yr. old was mostly happy playing in the snow, although he was tired, cozy and warm and might have fallen asleep out there. But I kept him awake and he liked riding the magic carpet.

But the twins cried every time they fell down until I could get over to them to lift them up. I asked if they wanted to be done and that made them cry harder, so I told them that they had to sit and wait when they fell and if they cried, we would turn in their skis.  That worked. Yay!!  They made some really good progress, my older kids came and helped them for a bit and that was a nice rest for me. We are to the point now where I can probably just wait for them at the Magic Carpet, they can make their way down the hill, they can even almost get back on the Carpet on their own. Although one of them skied  onto the carpet– had to run over and get him going back down the hill.  I am so glad for bunny hills and magic carpets!!

learnski4But wow, am I sore today.  I think I made everyone watching me tired.  I am really glad that I have made it a point to exercise most everyday, so that I can keep up with these little guys.  I had no idea how much of a workout I was going to get. It really was awesome!! And I am really proud of all my kids– the twins learning to ski and the older ones helping them and making accomplishments of their own.  Nice day!!

2 thoughts on “Teaching Twins to Ski

  1. that is so awesome! And crazy! Kevin and I took W this year and it seriously was a crazy workout. We also had lots of whining and some crying but I think he enjoyed it. All the kids will have to go together sometime. Wyatt would love going with the twins. Good luck in the storm

Leave a Reply

